Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA), USA

About CFA

The CFA designation is a qualification for finance and investment professionals, particularly in the fields of investment management and financial analysis of stocks, bonds and their derivative assets. The program focuses on portfolio management and financial analysis, and provides a general knowledge of other areas of finance. It's a graduate-level program for investment professionals. You will join a global network of more than 78000 professionals. You will earn a designation recognized all over the world.


The following are the entrance requirements for enrolling in the CFAExam:

Course Content

Topic Area Level I weight Level II weight Level III weight
Ethical and Professional Standards Professional Standards 15% 10% 10%
Quantitative Methods 12% 5-10% 0%
Economics 10% 5-10% 0%
Financial Reporting and Analysis 20% 15-25% 0%
Corporate Finance 8% 5-15% 0%

Exam Structure

Level I Level II Level III
Time 6 hours 6 hours 6 hours
Number of Questions 240 questions 120 questions 60 questions + Essays
Question Types Multiple Choice Item Sets Item Sets & Essay
Focus Knowledge and Comprehension Analysis and Application Synthesis and Evaluation


limit to the number of times you can take each exam

CFA Institute Fee (US $)
First deadline 18 March 2015
11:59 p.m. ET
Standard deadline 19 August 2015
11:59 p.m. ET
Final deadline 16 September 2015
11:59 p.m. ET
First-time Enrollment Fee Deadline passed 450 450
First-time Enrollment Fee Deadline passed 825 1,210
Registration Level I Level II Level III
10,000 60,000 60,000 70,000


Employers and media around the world recognize the CFA charter as the standard of professional excellence. And with such widespread recognition, CFA charter holders earn a significant competitive advantage for international employment.